Tikhvin Monastery is famous for its "Miracle Working Icon," believed to be painted by evangelist Luke (Luca) over 2000 years ago. The icon appeared on the river Tikhvinka in 1383, which is when Uspensky Cathedral and the town of Tikhvin were built.

Four monasteries were built in the Tikhvin area during the 15th and 16th Centuries. Thereafter, Tikhvin became a special place of prayer for the Russian Tsars as well as a national focus of religious pilgrimage.

Ivan the Terrible held the Miracle Working Icon and came to Tikhvin before his coronation. In 1560, his fourth wife, Daria Koltovskaya, founded Vvedensky Convent in Tikhvin. In 1617, the Stolbov Peace Treaty with Sweden was signed in Tikhvin Monastery. In the 18th and 19th Centuries many members of the Russian Royal Family * Peter the Great, his daughter Elizabeth, Catherine the Great, her husband Peter III, their son Paul and his wife Maria, their son Alexander 1st, and many other * visited Tikhvin Monastery to worship the Miracle Working Icon.

In the 20th Century, the October Revolution and two world wars basically broke down and destroyed Russian Orthodox culture.  In 1941 the icon disappeared from Tikhvin and ended up in Chicago, where it was preserved by Archibishop Joann Garklavs. In July 2004, his stepson, Archpriest Sergei Garclavs, returned it to its home in Tikhvin. With the miraculous return, Russian President Putin visited Tikhvin Monastery in July 2004.

The tour includes a visit to the Tikhvin Monastery where the Miracle Working Icon is displayed, Anthony Dymsky Monastery and VVedensky Convent.



Home | About Us | Services | Transportation | St. Petersburg | Moscow | Religious | Testimonials | Contact Us